Looking for help with playing backup Ps1 games

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Lestat17, Apr 29, 2008.

1. Lestat17

Lestat17 Member

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie here. I bought a used Modded PS2 Slim version 75001 flip top. I don't know what mod chip I have in it. I have no problems playing backups of PS2 games, dvd or cd (memorex). I am having problems playing backups of PS1 games. I sometimes go to browser, or a black screen with normally start up. If I press the reset button twice from stand by I get a message saying insert Playstation 2 format disc. I have tried for 3 days searching this site on how to start up my ps2 to play my backup ps1 games with no luck. I found a page with different mod chip solutions and tried the ones I could. I don't have a game shark or any swap discs. I am asking on how to find out which chip I have? Or a way to start my ps1 games. I want to say thank you in advance for any help or advice given. This is a great site, which I have used before to find answers.

2. smokyrain

smokyrain Senior member

Well one way is too open up the PS2 and see what chip you have installed.

Another is to try different shortcut keys to see if it has a bootmanager, like say Matrix infinity is too press Triangle and it will tell you.
    Or Hold Triangle and Circle when booting up to go to configuration menu.

Same as pressing circle when booting up goes to PS1 mode.

For the DMS4 its R1 to go to Toxic Os menu.

Each modchip has its own shortcuts, so hard to say which to try.

How did you burn your PS1 backup?

That could be the issue also.

3. Lestat17

Lestat17 Member

HI,